Each year the Brookings Rotary Club awards six $1,000 scholarships to area high school seniors who will attend South Dakota State University. Funds for the scholarships are collected throughout the year from “Scholar Dollars” collected at weekly club meetings from members wishing to share announcements, family celebrations and other positive comments.
Scholarship recipients are chosen by selection committees at Brookings High School, Elkton High School, Sioux Valley High School and Deubrook High School.
This year’s winners are: Sopia Poppen, Abigail Mohs and Andrew Sternhagen, Brookings HS; Maria Quale, Sioux Valley HS; Kadence Bowne, Deubrook HS; and Caedman Bressler, Elkton HS.
Pictured above are, from left: Rotarian Steve Pohl, Abigail Mohs, Kadence Bowne and Deubrook HS Counselor Shelby Andrews.
Pictured below are, from left: Brookings HS Advisor Kylie Cramer, Sopia Poppen, Caedman Bressler and Rotarian Larry Janssen.
Not pictured are recipients Maria Quale and Andrew Sternhagen.